What do you do about sudden, frequent night waking in a 4.5 month old?


Thank you for help with my toddler last month. He’s doing much better. My latest crisis is with my 4.5 month old. Up until last week he was what I would consider a great sleeper! He was going to sleep quite smoothly (awake) after a little nursing. He had a dream feed at about 10:30 and then another feed between 4 to 5:30 (depending on the night.) In the last week and half though everything has fallen apart. I attribute this to regression but I think his regression is influencing bad sleep habits. He now wakes up in expectation of the dream feed – so he gets a bottle at 10:15 but he’s not asleep. Then, the fun times happen. Starting at 2:30, he needs to nurse every 45 minute cycle to get back to sleep. We haven’t been letting him cry in the middle of the night too long because he’s also gotten, MUCH louder, and I don’t want to wake the toddler. So now, I’ve been nursing at 2:30, 4:00, 5:00 and 6:00. I really need us to get back on track. I’m comfortable with any solutions/suggestions you have but I work full time and can’t handle much more of this. Thank you in advance for ideas!

Note: We have a complete blog post on the four month regression under our resource blog. For now sounds like your baby has a pretty strong nursing to sleep association during the night which works great for some families, but certainly not all. SOunds like it’s time for you to transition your baby away from this into more independence. You’ll want to pick the 1-2 times you think your baby really needs to eat in the night (usually around 12-1am, and around 3-4am and then wean down (reduce away) those extra feedings. He’s still little so we don’t recommend full night sleep training at this age, but you can certainly wean down the 10pm feeding and then respond with some sleep training of your choice and comfort level to help him learn to get through that wake up on his own!

1 Comment

  1. Emma says:

    My 6.5 month old is great through the day. But at night she wont settle. She is breastfed. But has a bottle of formula before bed around 9-10pm then is put down in her cot awake and goes off to sleep easily. The problem is she wakes anywhere from 11-12pm and I try settling her. sometimes she goes back to sleep, other times she fights it for hours so I end up feeding her on the breast to get her back to sleep. Then she wakes every hour after that so 2-3-4-5-6-7 until she had enough sleeping all together. Then she has a 3 hours sleep in the morning after being up for an hour. Iv tried everything, I need some advise on what I’m doing wrong. She also suffers with reflux.

What do you think?

