What do you do when rocking to sleep isn’t soothing?


Had my sleep consult with Erin on Friday. It was great! Question for all moms and experts though. We agreed to muscle through night weaning with rocking and swaying when my 9 month (adjusted) son wakes up throughout the night. Nursing is a comfort association, not a sleep association, so I thought rocking/swaying would help with his separation anxiety. Not so much. The first night, he woke up about 3.5 hours after bedtime and I rocked him for 1.5 hours while he SCREAMED bloody murder. I couldn’t take any more (my back and ears were killing me) so I let him play quietly in the dark living room and he calmed down though he still had bouts of crying for another 1.5 hours before finally going to sleep. He woke again after just an hour and I caved and nursed him.
My question is: is this normal? 1.5 hours of non-stop screaming? If so, how in the world does anyone withstand it? I’m tough but I just couldn’t do it.

It sounds like you still believe that he’s just nursing for comfort, but if he’s truly hungry, then that would explain the difficulty in going back to sleep. It might be better to gradually reduce his feedings for a few nights and then move on to rocking him to sleep. The amount of time that he was awake is definitely longer than is normal for rocking to sleep. It’s possible he is just very tenacious, but I suspect it might be a hunger issue. Feel free to e-mail me if you want to dissect this more….Erin

What do you think?

